Comments: Almost Kosher for Passover Macaroons


Have you ever tried to make these macaroons really kosher for Passover i mean by substituting flour with potato starch?

No, I haven't. These are just the macaroons that I like. I have had macaroons that were kosher for Passover (I think by not having flour as opposed to using potato starch or some such substitute)--recipes are widely available. Again, I'm just not that religious. It's just 1/4 cup!

Flour's a no-no? I wasn't aware of that. Why is flour not kosher?

I learnt about macaroons from food blogs only lol.... seems very popular in the food blogosphere

You know, I have no idea and now that I think about it more, matzo has to be made from flour. Maybe these macaroons are kosher. Anyone who is actually Jewish can chime in at any point.

Short answer: your macaroons aren't kosher for pesach.

Long answer: kosher for pesach originally had nothing to do with leavening agents, but instead was about the things that could be leavened--the original prohibition was on using the five "chometz" grains that could ferment (wheat, rye, barley, oats, or spelt) or any of their by-products (like flour), in combination with water; it was decided, though, that 18 minutes was the minimum time that it could take for even "accidental" fermentation to happen if a grain product got wet, so if you can finish baking within 18 minutes of adding the water (and can get a rabbi to assure that no fermentation happened in the field), you can have a kosher flour-based product, which is how matzoh is made.

Later, artificial leavening was also prohibited, which is why baking powder and yeast are what most people think of as the core of the issue. And the Ashkenazi also decided that to avoid the risk of people getting confused, it was safer to ban "kitnyos" (usually translated "legume", although it also seems to include other cereal grains like rice and corn) products, too, so corn and chickpea and rice flours (and even technically things like corn syrup) are verboten, too if used with water.

(Oddly, for some reason nobody rabinnical ever bothered to object to quinoa-based products that I'm aware of, so the Ambassatrix is safe.)

(And no, I'm not actually Jewish, but I was involved in the aforementioned Macaroonacolada experiment.)

Also, we're hoping that the seder concluded with "dessert", and not "desert". Unless you forced people to wander for 40 years before getting their cake...

Sweth to the rescue! And uh yeah, dessert, not desert.

Hi, I'm avital's husband, and she asked me to answer you about your big question : "is flour kosher for passover ?"
Actually, flour, when it has been kept away from water since the wheat has been harvested, is kosher for pessach.
What is forbidden during passover, is anything that has risen, and, by definition, any dough, made with any cereal.
Since flour that has been in contact with water for more than 18 minutes rises, any dough that contains flour must be baked within this period (that's how we make matsos..)
G. Bless U

I saw this on my package of baked goods. "Made with used flour" What does this mean?

Sounds to me like people are taking freecycling a little too far.

@pearl zucker: it has been mentioned that flour which hasn´t leavened can be used. So usually when we do need flour for some recipes you can buy matzoh meal. It is crumbled up matzoh (which guarantees that the flour hasn´t and will not leaven) and works well too.

Hey, sorry for re-awakening this post but how many cups is one kg? I never figured it out.

Arvid, it depends on the ingredient. Cups measure volume and a kilogram is a weight. This site has the metric (weight) equivalent for some common ingredients:

This is a great tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.
Short but very accurate info_ Appreciate your sharing this
one. A must read post!

After looking over a handful of the articles on your blog, I
truly appreciate your way of blogging. I bookmarked it
to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near
future. Please visit my web site too and tell me how you feel.

Wow! Finally I got a website from where I
be capable of truly get useful data concerning my study and knowledge.

great publish, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector don't notice
this. You must proceed your writing. I am confident, you have a huge readers' base

Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i
came to _return the favor_.I am trying to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

I tend not to write a leave a response, but I looked at
a few of the comments on Too Many Chefs: Comment on Almost Kosher for Passover Macaroons.

I actually do have a few questions for you if you tend not to mind.
Is it only me or does it appear like some of the
responses come across like they are coming from brain
dead folks? :-P And, if you are posting on other social sites, I'd like to keep up with you.

Could you make a list of all of all your social pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page
or twitter feed?

Your means of explaining everything in this paragraph iis really pleasant,
all be capable of easily unnderstand it, Thanks
a lot.Get Potty Training Girls In A Daytoilet
training Get How To Potty Train Youur Baby In Babydow
Com How To Tiips On Potty Training A 2 Year Old When Are Kids Reeady To Potty Train 10 Tipss Potty Training Pods
Buy 10 Tipstoilet training Best Poty Training Girls In One Week

We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in ouur community.
Your site provided us with valuable information to work on.

You've done an impressive job and our entire community wil
bee grateful to you.

I want to to thank you for this excellent read!!

I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I've got you saved
as a favorite to check out new stuff you post_

Everything is very open with a really clear explanation of the challenges.
It was ruly informative. Your website is very useful.
Thank you for sharing!

Excellent blog right here! Also your web site rather
a lot up very fast! What host are you the usage of?

Can I am getting your associate link on your host? I desire my website loaded
up as quickly as yours lol

I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I'll bookmark your
weblog and check again here regularly. I'm quite sure
I will learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and coverage!
Keep up the good works guys I've you guys to blogroll.

I'm a developer and I've just developed a brand-new online dating web site.

I am looking for 'beta' testers to search and give it a try.

Would you like to opt in? We are going to compensate you.

Genuinely no matter if someone doesn't know after that
its up to other people that they will assist,
so here it happens.

I have been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never
found any interesting article like yours. It's pretty worth enough for me.
In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so
I came tto take a look. I'm definitely enjoying the information.
I'm bookmarking and will be tweeting this to mmy followers!

Superb blog and amazng style and design.

Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
My last blog (wordpress) was hackerd and
I ended up losing months of hard work due tto no
data backup. Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

Thanks for the marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you
might be a grdat author. I will remember to bookmark your
blog and will often comke back at some point. I want to encourage you continue your
great job, have a nice day!

It's hzrd to find experienced people oon this subject, however, you seem ike you knbow what you're talking about!

Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog
and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.

In any case I'll be subscribing to your feed and I hope youu write again soon!

I'm not sure exactly wwhy but this weblog is loading incredibly slow for me.
Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end?
I'll chehk back later on and see if the problem still exists.

I do not even know how I ended up here, but I tought
thi post was great. I don't know whho you are but definitely you are going to
a famous blogger if you are not alpready ;) Cheers!

Very good info. Lucky me I ran across your site by chance (stumbleupon).
I have saved it for later!

I've been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles
or weblog posts in this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this
site. Studying this information So i'm happy to convey that I've a very excellent uncanny feeling I came
upon just what I needed. I such a lot indubitably will make certain to don?t put out of your mind
this web site and provides it a look on a continuing basis.

Thanks very nice blog!

Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks, However I am encountering difficulties with your RSS.
I don't understand why I am unable to join it.
Is there anybody getting similar RSS problems? Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly respond?

I want to to thank you for this wonderful read!! I certainly loved
every bit of it. I've got you bookmarked to look at new stuff you post_

Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you
actually recognize what you are talking about! Bookmarked.
Please als seek advice from my web site =).

We may have a hyperlink alteernate contract among us

Hi, I desire to subscribe for this weblog to take newest updates, therefore where can i do
it please help.

If some one wishes to be updated with most up-to-date technologies then he must be visit this website and
be up to date all the time.

Highly descriptive post, I enjoyed that bit. Will there be a part

I needed to thank you for this very good read!!
I certainly loved every little bit of it. I have got you
bookmarked to check out new things you post_

Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is truly
informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
Many people will be benefited from your writing.

Your means of explaining everything in this piece of writing
is genuinely pleasant, every one be capable of simply understand it, Thanks a lot.

It's difficult to find educated people about this subject, however, you sound like you know what you're talking
about! Thanks

I'll right away clutch your rss as I can not in finding your
email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.

Do you have any? Please allow me recognize in order that I could subscribe.

Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful article.
Thank you for supplying these details.

Hello there! I could have sworn I've been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized
it's new to me. Anyhow, I'm definitely glad I found it and I'll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

I mean, what you say is valuable and everything.

But think about if you added some great pictures or videos to give your
posts more, "pop"! Your content is excellent but with images and videos,
this site could certainly be one of the greatest in its niche.
Amazing blog!

What's up, for all time i used to check blog posts here early
in the daylight, as i enjoy to gain knowledge of more and

I know this site gives quality dependent posts and extra stuff, is there any other web site which
presents these things in quality?

Crazy dangerous animals had to be sought after and killed for foods.
Coaches are like us only, so they have their most favorite too.

It is advised that you seek professional help, if absolutely nothing you attempted works.
Generator are designed to do work they enjoy and to learn it.

Heya this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs
use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
I'm starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get advice
from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about
this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home
a little bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog.

A great read. I'll definitely be back.

Post a comment